In Hawaii, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. More specifically, you cannot drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater—regardless of whether or not your ability to drive has actually been impaired. If you are caught driving with any amount of alcohol in your system as a minor driver (under the age of 21), you could also be arrested for DUI.
If you or someone you love has been arrested for drunk driving in Honolulu or a surrounding area, you should not hesitate to get in touch with the criminal defense lawyer at The Law Office of Victor Bakke, ALC. With more than two decades of legal experience, our lead attorney has already won more than 3,000 cases—including hundreds of driving under the influence (DUI) cases. Don't let a criminal conviction jeopardize your future – contact our firm immediately.
The Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in Hawaii
DUI is a priorable offense, which means that the penalties will become increasingly severe with each subsequent conviction. Although a first-time offense does not carry mandatory jail time, you could still be sentenced to a maximum of five days' imprisonment.
The penalties for a first, second or third DUI offense can include:
- First DUI – up to five days in jail, $1,000 in fines & a one-year license suspension
- Second DUI – up to 14 days in jail, $1,500 in fines & a one-year license suspension
- Third DUI – up to 30 days in jail, $2,500 in fines & a five-year license suspension
What happens if I refuse to take a breathalyzer test?
Hawaii has an implied consent law, which means that you cannot refuse to submit to a chemical test if a law enforcement officer suspects that you are intoxicated. Although an officer cannot force you to take a breath or blood test, there will be consequences if you refuse.
The penalties for refusing to take a chemical BAC test include:
- First offense – suspension of your driver's license for one year
- Second offense – suspension of your driver's license for two years
- Third offense – suspension of your driver's license for four years
Additional Penalties: The Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
In addition to jail time, fines, community service and the suspension of your license, you will also have to install an ignition interlock device in your car after a DUI conviction—even for a first offense. This device requires you to submit a breath sample before you would be able to turn on your car. If your blood alcohol content exceeds a certain limit, the engine will not start and this information will be recorded. It will also cost money to install and maintain the device.
Contact The Law Office of Victor Bakke, ALC Today
If you have been arrested for drunk driving, you should waste no time in contacting the Honolulu DUI defense attorney at The Law Office of Victor Bakke, ALC. Over the last 20 years, Attorney Bakke has won more than 3,000 criminal cases in the state—hundreds of which involved driving under the influence. He also comes highly recommended by former clients, so you can trust that your future will be in competent hands when you turn to our firm for help. Request a free consultation today to discuss your case with our firm.
Ready to take the first step? Get started by contacting our firm online!