In Hawaii, you can be arrested for assault if you physically injure another person without legal justification. Assault in Hawaii is classified as first and second-degree assault, which are Class B and Class C felonies; and third-degree assault, which is a misdemeanor offense.
If you are being charged with assault after being involved in a domestic dispute, you are urged to contact The Law Office of Victor Bakke, ALC. As a former prosecutor with over 20 years of experience, you can trust that Attorney Bakke to competently handle your case.
Why Attorney Bakke?
First Degree Assault: Under §707-710, a person is guilty of assault in the first degree if he or she intentionally causes serious bodily injuries to another person. Assault in the first-degree is a Class B felony, punishable by up to $25,000 in fines and up to 10 years in prison.
Second Degree Assault: Under §707-711, a person commits assault in the second degree if he or she intentionally or knowingly causes substantial bodily injury to another person, or if they recklessly cause serious or substantial bodily injury. Assault in the second degree is a Class C felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison, and up to $10,000 in fines.
Third Degree Assault: Under §707-712, a person commits assault in the third degree if the person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly caused bodily injury to another person, or if they negligently caused bodily injury to another person with a dangerous instrument.
Assault in the third degree is a misdemeanor unless committed during a fight or a scuffle, entered into by mutual consent, in which case it would be a petty misdemeanor.
If you are facing felony assault charges, you are in a lot of legal hot water and you need to contact Honolulu Criminal Defense Attorney, Victor Bakke. With thousands of cases successfully resolved, Attorney Bakke knows how to plea down felony assault cases to misdemeanors, or in some cases, get assault charges dismissed altogether.